Under a microscope/On a weighing scale

April 16, 2008

I have taught you, my dear students, for almost 4 months! Gosh. Time does fly when we are enjoying, don’t we? ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, I wish you strength and determination during this examination period.

This is the format for the English examinations.

Paper 1 Section 1- Writing to a topic (30 marks)

You will be given a choice of 5 topics. The topics can be narrative, personal recount, descriptive or persuasive. Please make sure you write to the topic.

Paperย 1 Section 2 – Situational Writing (30 marks)

Read through all the situational writing compositions you have done from Sec 1 to Sec 3. For this section, please make sure you identify all the tasks and elaborate on them.

Paperย 2 Comprehension (25 marks) and Summary (25 marks)

I have touched on quite a bit on ‘using your own words’ type of question. I hope the training has been useful. As for summary, remember to look for points that answer the question, and not just underline whatever you fancy. Please rephrase the text when writing out your summary, in a single paragraph. Also, DO NOT exceed the word limit.

Meanwhile, here is a little music video for you to savour. The video’s narrative structure is rather interesting. Perhaps you may like to analyse it along with the lyrics.

14 Responses to “Under a microscope/On a weighing scale”

  1. Chiang Fong Sin Says:

    Good thing the singer is not singing backwards.

    Is it two posts ago? The one with sesame street video. Mr kek asked us to try and interpret the content that depicts our classes. Mr Kek, what is that thought?

  2. Keng Hoe Says:

    Interesting video,Mr Kek. Everything is going backwards, except for the song. But the sound is rather soft.

    Thanks for the reminders for our Mid Year English Paper. I suppose you can’t give us the topics :p

  3. Yi Han Says:

    Oh no. I just watched the video of a ghost come back to life!

    Jokes aside, sometimes I do wish I can go back and undo the mistakes I made.

  4. mrkek Says:

    Fong Sin: The Sesame Street video reminds me of jazz vs choral singaing, of creativity vs conformity, of students vs the establishment. Haha. I am just trying to exaggerate things a little.

    Keng Hoe: There is no point in examining your writing skills if I give you the topics. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yi Han: You cannot undo the mistakes made but you can prevent mistakes being made.

  5. Keng Hoe Says:

    Haha,Mr Kek I’m just joking ๐Ÿ™‚
    If you really gave us the topics, I suppose everyone would get an A1 for their English. There would be no sense of satisfaction even if I actually get an A1.

  6. mrkek Says:

    Keng Hoe: There is something interesting that you have brought up. Are you saying that your satisfaction comes not just from scoring an A1 but also because it differentiates you from the rest? This brings me to my next question, which I am more curious to know about.
    What do grades mean to students?
    All students are welcomed to answer the second question, provided you state your name (not just initials).

  7. Sisui Says:

    Woohoo, my first comment since 4months. i suppose since young most (if not all) of us are encouraged to score well for our exams. So know i think its just a natural instinct to want to get better grades? And grades mean the world to me.*coughs* =D

  8. Keng Hoe Says:

    I guess I’m just saying that if we all knew the topics for the exam beforehand,that would not be fair competition, and so there would be no sense of satisfaction even if I manage to score higher than them.

    About grades: when your grades are better than others, you would feel satisfied knowing that you have done better because of your own abilities.

  9. Yi Han Says:

    I think it’s more of a sense of achievement. You feel good if you can do something others can’t, or if you have bettered yourself and achieve those mental goals in your mind.

  10. Hubert Says:

    MR KEK THE ENG COMPRE TODAY SO MANY WORDS I DONT UNDERSTAND!! and i died in the summary ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  11. Chiang Fong Sin Says:

    Whoever you are, you are not alone. I squeezed words out of my mind and I jumped from 95 words to 125 words… (and the limit is 150 words…)

  12. Hubert Says:

    yay no sch tmr! and emath on thurs. hope its easy. emath paper is mr kek set one right? ๐Ÿ™‚ if its hard can blame mr kek hehe. can play com soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Hubert Says:

    whee exams over!

  14. >.. Says:

    I luv coldplay…COLDPLAY Roxx…Time has past so fast that it can’t be felt,we wished to return to the past when there is the good times but it’s all over,all of us will age by the time goes by…


Leave a comment