Feedback

August 19, 2008

I would like to have some feedback on this blog-journal system and my English lessons.

1) What is good about this blog-journal system?

2) What are the areas of improvement for this blog-journal system?

3) What is the most memorable EL lesson this year? Why is it memorable?

Please give constructive comments. Thank you.

15 Responses to “Feedback”

  1. Chiang Fong Sin Says:

    I feel that this blog system is an encouragement for us to write. Well, at least the majority of 3 Justice did at least 24 weeks of work. (Term 1 and Term 2 plus June holiday)

    However, many of them do not follow. I suddenly remember that there are 4 people who are supposed to be checking our blogs every week. Obviously, they did not. Thus I conclude, it is a failure to have the 4 people to check on us.

    I cannot choose the most memorable lesson because I cannot find one that stand out from the rest, but all is good.

    Mr Kek, just remember En Lai’s words “To motivate, you have to be motivated!”

  2. Alfie Says:

    The blog-journal is good as it provides a platform for students to comment on their work. This is unlike the “tradition” of writing journals on exercise books which an uncovered piece of work. What do I mean? No one will recognize the person’s effort or talent, except for the teacher. The student will not feel motivated to continue to do well as it seems as though all the work he/she is doing is being marked and left aside in a corner. Unlike a blog, it can be accessed but everyone and not just the students. We can even comment on the entries to help the writer improve and to encourage him/her to keep it up.
    However, one thing that the “traditional” way of doing journals, that is on the exercise book, ensures (most likely) that the work is done. Unlike, blog entries which have to be tediously checked one click after another.
    Therefore, you should have more of those (what do you call it) voting. Where classmates vote for the most improved, most inspiring blogger etc. Not only that, you (despite your busyness), should try to post more. Perhaps something about psychology! I’m really interested about that and I’m sure the rest are too. Of course, you make it clear that you will not tolerate work that is maybe 2weeks late or more.
    Sadly, I cannot remember any memorable English lessons. But, I sure remember the recent speech lesson. It is probably one of the few times where the class really presented some hilarious and well-done work! I also remember some debate lessons! However, instead of debating on paper, why not try it for real? That sounds really fun to me.

    Mr Kek, our class will miss your jokes! Wish you an early Teacher’s day! Enjoy your time at reservist (You said you were looking forward to it).

    Alfie

  3. mrkek Says:

    Fong Sin: Thank you. Sometimes your class do motivate me, especially the speeches presented recently. They are of high quality.

    Alfie: You are right. I should post more entries. As for the idea of a real debate, I was tempted to do it for a few times. Somehow I ‘chickened out’. Haha. Maybe I should trust your class more. 🙂

  4. Yang JIEMIN Says:

    The blog journal entries are good in a sense where most students now feel more at ease doing their work online. Blogging is probably something most students should be familiar too. Thus, students would not reject this like they do to the homework they leave in school.
    The words from 1100 words aren’t really appealing to me. I find them boring and half the time rather useless. Mr kek doesn’t even know half of them i think. They may be of chim language, but we would never remember something that is that alien to us. Not mentioning 1100 of them. Maybe blogging in proper English but about topics like “blogging” or “something you miss dearly”. It may be like an essay, just that it is shorter. There is less stress on the pupils this way.
    English class ar, the one where u brought us to the lab and everyone started playing with the computer voice and “mr kek” came out everywhere. Until u got pissed of it.

  5. Ji Hao Says:

    In my opinion, it have been a great way to do journals, as it allows me to let my ideas flow and get the jounral written out easily.first time i have ever done journal in this way and being the first time, the system had run quite well.one problem is that everytime i check my blog, it had been quite empty in terms of comments, a deserted town, without the happinees brought by the comments of my classmates, but i have to say that some of my classmates still tags my blog.:)overall, this is a very feasible idea except for some probelms like encouragaing classmates to tag on each other’s blogs and to do their online journal regularly.

    For me, all EL lessons have been absolutely very memorable with no doubt.but the more outstanding one was the one that you asked us to remember a sentence or a phrase and asked of us to observe the surrounding and sounds that we can hear. you said that after years when we come back to think of your lessons again, we would surely remember that time when you asked us to remember that sentence or phrase.i indeed agree on your point but i have forgotten what the sentence or phrase was, haha, sorry:).with the actions you do and the way you speak, you have made lessons very interesting.i could say that sleeping in your class is almost impossible.you have also been very creative in thinking of ways to make lessons interesting and you never over do anything.even though there may be sometimes when almost the whole class did not do their work, you did not punish them.this made lessons not as tensed up and stressed up, making it more enjoyable.

    my english results have also improved under your guidance and this made me gain confidence and determined to maintain my results.i have never really been as confident with my results for english as this year.

    A BIG tahnk you to you Mr Kek, and i have to say that you are an EXCELLENT teacher.:)Happy Reserving the Country!

  6. Jun Rui Says:

    1) What is good about this blog-journal system?
    Journal entries are able to be viewed by fellow classmates. Hence the blogger would be more conscious of his/her work. We blog out what we want people to see.

    2) What are the areas of improvement for this blog-journal system?
    None that I can think of.

  7. mrkek Says:

    Jiemin: Good point about whether it is appropriate to make use of the 1100 words in the journal. It was a tough choice for me. My rationale for asking all of you to write using those difficult words is so that you will remember their meanings. It will help more in your reading comprehension than in your writing. However, it is indeed a little strange to widen one’s vocabulary through writing. I will think about this issue deeper.

    Ji Hao: To tell you frankly, I feel that it is more of ‘you’ than of ‘me’ that is causing the improvement in your English language. I think you are a rather driven and determined person. It just happens that my teaching style clicks with your learning style. I also have to say that I am truly impressed with your eagerness to learn.
    As for the lack of comments, I am still trying to figure out a system to build a community of avid bloggers and ‘commentators’. I may have to teach my classes next time the art of critique (so that they know how to give proper comments), schedule them to go to the Comp Lab and finally, grade their comments. Somehow, marks is what students seem to crave for.

  8. Yi Han Says:

    Well, I’m not too sure that this system has exactly been a roaring success. But I must say that this has been an interesting experience. The blog, as a convenient platform, has certainly inspired me to write more. Frankly, I can safely confirm that without this system I wouldn’t do half the journals I have.

    Yes, what happened to the moderators? Did the idea get junked halfway? And as for using the 1100 words, I kind of feel that my writing would indeed flow smoother without them. However, I cannot deny that this is a good way to reinforce the words we were supposed to learn weekly. Mr Kek, maybe you should set a ‘strongly recommended’ word number on the entries?

    I have had some sort of fun blogging about Patrick. You could change the system to asking the students to write a story, chapterly.

    Constructive English lessons don’t exactly stand out in my memory. What I remember best is you telling us chimerical stories.(spot that word?)

    To me, this blog is not so much about marks, more of letting people hear my voice. You could introduce something like a monthly issue, or a honor roll for the class wall to encourage us.

    At any rate, do continue this system for future classes!

    (Sorry, I’m in ‘proposal mode’. Some ideas might not work….)

  9. Ignatius Says:

    The good thing about this blog-journal system is that although many people thought it as a unusual way for a class to do journals, it still proved to be quite a success. Also, one can comment on the journals anytime they want without the other party.

    The areas of improvement for the blog-journal system is that quite a number of people do not take it seriously. Perhaps telling the students that participation marks will be included may work.

    Actually, there is no memorable lesson as all are precious memories.

    Thanks for making 3 justice a better class and hopefully in english.

    Happy Teachers Day!

  10. shuhadah05 Says:

    Its good as its easier to manage without using paper and pen.If you were to ask us to hand in on paper,i think by now your table would have been flooded with papers. Areas to improve- must find a easier way to check on all the entries or you will suffering everytime you try to check.To me,all lessons are fun and memorable as long he got tell us your ‘bullshit’ stories.When yu tell us the stories,we become more interested in the lessons.Must tell us more of your stories!I doubt the relief teacher will tell us any…

  11. jamie Says:

    HELLO MR KEK!
    here’s some feedback that I have regarding the blog system:
    The blog system is really creative and different from the normal ‘pen and paper’ journals that the other classes have to write.Like what you have said in your first few lessons with us,posting on a blog makes us more wary and responsible of what we write.BUT,this blog system can be quite troublesome at times when we cannot have internet access at home for some particular reason.This allows for another reason for students not to do their work.Another bad point about this blog system is that staring at the computer screen for long periods of time can be bad for the eyes as well(I’m sparing a though for you!).At the same time,having a blog system reduces the risks of you losing our work and keeps your table relatively free of ‘junk’.One other BIG issue about the blog system would be the 1100 words.It would definitely be easier to write our entries WITHOUT the use of 1100 words and I don’t really think that writing with the 1100 words in our entries can help us remember the meanings as I am sure many of us just flip to the last page of each week’s exercise and look at the summary to find out the meanings to the words and just ‘implant’ them into the entries(CONFESSION:sometimes I do that when I really don’t have much time to use the computer).
    AND,all of your lessons are memorable!!

    **Ms Gan said that anything before a ‘BUT’ is a lie**

    ^JUST JOKING!

  12. Hubert Says:

    o yeah the lesson where everyone started making the computer say stupid things hahaha that was funny xD! and mrkek the new teacher’s so fierce..!! talk a bit then must go out stand..:( faster come back!

  13. Yew Weng Says:

    i like the system..but i’m not so hardworking.

  14. ss Says:

    Personally i dont care about the 1100 words and i find them totally unpractical at all. I don’t think i have ever once NATURALLY put in a 1100 word without having to ponder on how to slot the word in for the sake of marks. Firstly, the idea of blogging really motivates me to start clickin’ on the keyboard, but the idea of needing to use the (stupid) words totally shuts me off. Once I realise I gotta flip that thick fat heavy bulky troublesome book that we all are so hatefully familiar with, it totally takes any interest on the blogging about my day away. Secondly, many times this motivation and desire to blog is so intensely turned off that other than once, i blog for the sake of not getting detention.

    (Did this just contradicted yihan’s comment’s first paragraph?)

    Er. As for the lesson thing, every lesson is a new opportunity for learning, a chance to explore new horizons, a shot at discovering the unknowns, & the indescribable sense of achievement and appreciation after every lesson is.. Breath-taking.
    lol.
    Yay Mr Kek, come back soon. =)

  15. catrin m Says:

    I have to admit, this system is rather exciting initially. However, when ideas start run out, frustration comes along. Frustration is followed by laziness, and laziness results in fruitlessness.

    My suggestion: provide us with a topic to write on every week.


Leave a comment