March holidays!

March 5, 2008

Ever wonder why March is labelled as March, why October is the 10th month of the year (when octopus has only 8 legs and octagon has 8 sides) and why July and August are named after Roman emperors?

Wondering is fine but action is necessary. I would require certain actions from you, my beloved students, for this March holidays.

Necessary Action 1 

By 13 March 11.59pm, you are to post on your blog a 300-word discussion or argument on one of the following topics:

a) Do parents over-control their child nowadays?

or

b) Computer games addiction

You are to use at least 4 modals, 3 discourse organisers and 1 introduction technique as listed in the Persuasive Writing notes.

Necessary Action 2

Read through your classmates’ blogs and nominate the best one by posting a comment on this entry, before 13 March 11.59pm.

You have to explain why the nominated blog is good in about 100 words.  You also have to leave your NAME and CLASS in that comment.

Necessary Action 3

Leave a comment on the blog of your classmates which have + and – 1 of your register number, by 13 March 11.59pm. You know what I mean. If you don’t, you better find out.

The 3 Necessary Actions must be executed, at all costs. The faithful will be rewarded.

I shall end off Term 1 with a video of Queen singing We Will Rock You and We Are The Champion at Wembley Stadium in 1986 to more than 120,000 fans. Can you imagine a crowd of 120,000 fans?

Wonder, wonder, what a wonder

71 Responses to “March holidays!”

  1. Fong Sin Says:

    I found this website which tells us why the origin of names of the days and months.

    http://www.therefinersfire.org/days_months.htm

  2. mrkek Says:

    Fong Sin: Thanks for the contribution. I think the names for the last few months are rather confusing. Anyone understands how it works (from September onwards)?

  3. hansel Says:

    that necessary action 2…. does it have to be our own class? if so y bother putting clasS?

  4. Hubert Says:

    Mr Kek’s posts very funny 🙂 “You know what I mean. If you don’t, you better find out.” “The 3 Necessary Actions must be executed, at all costs. The faithful will be rewarded.”

    faithful will be rewarded xD sounds like some kind of demonic cult o.O

  5. Hubert Says:

    4 modals sounds hard

  6. jia xin 3 justice Says:

    hellos!

    i want to nominate jennifer of 3 justice’s journal blog.

    i can see from her journal entry that she her put her heart in when writing it.she put the words in 1100 words to good use,describing the contents properly:)she sets a very suitable atmosphere for the story and uses the correct punctuation signs,letting the reader feels as if he/she is in the story itself or actually watching the story take place in front of his/her eyes.

    also,instead of only the neccessay journals and essay,she also added a few pieces of her artwork to make her blog more lifely.

    hahas.yea.here’s my nomination!

    cheers,
    jiaxin
    3 justice:)

  7. Yi Han Says:

    I nominate Catrin of 3EP as her posts are interesting and based on current topics we all can relate to, such as the one about jumping queue at the Japanese stall. Also, her writing style, or “tone” is friendly and almost as if she is just talking to you.

    Another thing about her writing style is the transparency of it, or how she appears to show what she really is thinking when she writes. This is one of those things which welcome a reader.

    A characteristic of her writing is her inherent ability to unashamedly make fun of herself. Such an attitude is refreshing and rare, for most of us tend to conceal our own faults when we write.

    I eagerly await more of her unique work.

    Tan Yi Han from 3EP.

  8. Nur Shuhadah Says:

    I would like to nominate Jun Rui’s blog from 3 EP as I find his blog interesting as although your instruction was to create a journal per week,he made his a series on Hubird instead.Thus his journals is not just a journa1 per week but rather a following episode from the last one.

  9. Hubert Says:

    i nominate Ong Wee Kiat of 3EP as you can see that he has put a fair amount of effort into his posts. He uses not only vocabulary words from 1100 words but he uses the idoms as well.

    His posts are also of average length- not too short (not like mine). He also uses a narrative tone and some posts are somewhat like an informative story instead. The link to the IQ test on his blog also allows his blog to be more entertaining.

  10. AzureFury Says:

    Haha,interesting vote,Hubert.However,Wee Kiat’s blog is a little too……(I don’t think I should say it here) I nominate myself for having the best blog of 3EP.Okay,just kidding.The best blogger of 3EP,in my humble opinion,should be Catrin Marcellina of 3EP.

    Of all the blogs I’ve read in 3EP,it seems like Catrin’s blog gets the most traffic,and certainly one of the most interesting blogs in 3EP.Although there are some other blogs with more interesting content,their journal entries are incomplete.Some sad examples are Licheng’s and Yew Weng’s.Catrin’s posts are all quite long(definitely the antithesis of Hubert’s)Catrin’s style of writing is unique,always about herself,and seemingly true.I think I should stop here now,I am offending too many people already.Haha.

    This comment is brought to you by Keng Hoe of 3EP.

    P.S “The faithful shall be rewarded.” I wonder what kind of reward it is.

  11. Yi Ting Says:

    NOMINATED BLOG: ROI TAN YU MING (33) 3EMPATHY

    I feel motivated to give my very best in everything I do, be it studies, relationships and health after reading his Week 14 journal. I especially like the analogy, the four people in a marathon. I think that it is very typical of us. for example, many will say they will do their best and get an A. However, we may see these people starting to study only a week before the examinations. I believe in this society filled with intense competition, there is definitely a need to “strive to be like the first runner, have a clear goal to work towards, and prepared to put in whatever is required to reach the ultimate goal”.

    -yi ting
    3 empathy

  12. Ji Hao Says:

    I shall nominate Chiang Fong Sin of 3Justice ‘s blog.

    his paragraphs are short and interesting.his posts are different from each other in terms of genre.his starting lines holds my breath and it is a joy reading his posts.

    his posts are filled with endless adventures and i feel that he had done a great job.he have also posted up the latest post and have oter stuffs in his blog and visiting his blog is not just reading the posts but a way of relaxing too.at the top of the blog right under his name is a phrase which says “If you have anything to ask me, I will try to help you”which makes the visitors feel welcomed.

    he has also fulfilled all the required settings for the blog and thus i shall nominate him.

  13. jamie 3empathy Says:

    i would like to nominate shuhadah as it is shown in her journal entries that she has put in quite a lot of effort in writing.
    Furthermore,the entries that she have submitted have interesting topics like the one on ‘humans a.k.a. sentimental creatures’.Sometimes,she also writes her journal entries as things that she really experiences and is able to fit in the five words.For example,the journal entry on her basketball match.
    To add on to that,she is able to use the five words from 1100 words properly to potray the story even more properly.
    Therefore,i would like to nominate shuhadah’s blog.

  14. Walter Says:

    hahas The 3 Necessary Actions must be executed, at all costs. The faithful will be rewarded. Funny arhs Mr kek .

  15. Darren Wee Says:

    hiies~

    Nominating: Jennifer(3JT)’s blog
    Reason: Usually, when you go into a blog to read entries,all you see is words, it quite bores to continue reading. But, jennifer put in some nice pictures to start off with(and put in effort) , gives a nice atmosphere to read. Also her vocabulary is quite good, using the words from 1100 words correctly.

    Her tenses and all are correct and makes me feel enjoyable reading her posts too. It make her blog really full of life to it.

    Happy march holidays!
    Darren wee(3Justice)

  16. KimWee Says:

    I want to nominate Roi Tan of 3EP as I find that his posts are very unique and interesting. His post are short and yet able to bring out what he wants to say and also able to use the five words correctly in these short posts.
    His post are also easy to understand and grasp what he wants to say.

  17. JIEMIN Says:

    Lol, after the reward is mr kek saying “Well done those you have done it, your reward is to spare the nagging from me. Muahaha” haha

  18. roitan Says:

    I nominate jamie’s essay on ” [[Do parents over-control their child nowadays?]]”

    Jamie’s discussion is very well balanced essay that discusses both sides of the issue. Her use of modals effectively lightens the tone and atmosphere of this discussion, giving it a light feel about it. Her introduction uses the ” definition” style to start her discussion off. This is very useful as it gives the audience a crystal clear view as to what the discussion will be all about. Jamie’s conclusion is very powerful as she left the audience some food for thought. The impactful conclusion makes Jamie’s discussion memorable and unique.

    Thus, I have decided to nominate Jamie’s blog.
    Thank you.

  19. catrin m Says:

    mr kek, I could feel feel your desperation through your threats.

  20. Fong Sin Says:

    Mr. Kek, I am sorry for doing the journal late, I had a camp until this monday and I was really tired so I did the journal and the persuasive composition today.

    I was kind of shock to see that only a handful of students from 3 Justice did their work. Jia Xin, Jennifer, Ji Hao, Darren Wee, Chenrui (Oh my god. He only have the feature article and this composition) and me. I took a look at their entry starting at 2300h sharp.

    Chen Rui did not include discourse organisers.

    Jia Xin did not leave spaces after fullstops and no capital letters. (She must have did it in a hurry.) I feel that she neglected the fact that there are many adult computer games addict that can afford their own games.

    Ji Hao has stated the advantages and disadvantages of computer gaming, but the way I understand the topic, it is about computer games addiction which is a negative point.

    Darren Wee and Jennifer also stress too much on teenagers.

    I was a hardcore computer addict who plays computer once I reach home until 10 pm everyday. In holidays, I wake up before daybreak and play until midnight day after day. Therefore, I have met many people who were like me and many of them are actually adults. Therefore, computer games addiction is also contributing a significant amount of damage to adults too.

    Ultimately, I will back Chen Rui up for the honour of the best essay (there are not many choices) because I find his essay suitable tot he topic.

    *I forgot to check introduction. I am too tired. Sorry.

    However, another interpretation of “Read through your classmates’ blogs and nominate the best one by posting a comment on this entry, before 13 March 11.59pm. ” tells me that it is blog and not just the persuasive essay.

    If I can, I will support myself for the honour (thick skin) because I the youtube video I find interesting frequently and did all my work accoring to requirement.

    In reality, I will reccomend Jennifer’s blog because she did all her work according to requirement and she has included drawings. (nice drawings)

    Thank you all those who did their work, it make the work meaningful.

  21. Octopus Says:

    HELLO! I’m Rachel from 3EP. [‘-‘]
    I want to nominate Catrin’s blog from 3EP.
    It is very interesting reading through her posts. It feels as if she is there telling me the story. Her posts are also more of like closer to reality. She dares to voice out her opinions which many felt but were not daring enough to say it out.
    Some how, her journals never fail to make me laugh and at the same time agree with what she say.
    I very much would like to read her blog again as she focus on different issues every week. I really look forward to her next post.
    Octopus aka Rachel
    ThreeEmpathy..[^~^]

  22. Octopus Says:

    I realise the timing is wrong…

  23. JiHao Says:

    hello mr kek, ji hao here.i have posted my nomination in this post recently but i don’t seem to find it in this comment section.i would like to ask if you have received it? thank you and happy holidays!

  24. Hubert Says:

    wa so little ppl post..seems like mr kek’s gona scold whn sch reopens agn

  25. Keng Hoe Says:

    I doubt Mr Kek has seen our comments yet,Hubert.My nomination is still under moderation. T.T

  26. Shi Yun Says:

    Hello Mr Kek, I would like to nominate Jennifer of 3Justice.

    As you can see, Jennifer had made an effort to do her journal every week. And I believe that she had tried her best to make every essay an interesting one. I really had a great time reading through all her journals. She also put in nice pictures to make her blog more entertaining. ;D

  27. Ong Wee Kiat Says:

    I nominate Catrin of 3EP as her post is interesting. I can see that she had put in fair amount of effort using the 1100 words in her post. Her font she used is also not too small and easy to see. Her style of writing also gives the reader a feeling of wanting to read her next post.

  28. Hubert Says:

    o.O thought mr kek say chk by thurs so many ppl nvr nominate sia =.=

  29. min min Says:

    I nominate catrin marcellina from 3EP

    Reason is she managed to portray every aspect of her current life using the 1100 words which is very impressive.

    Thanks

  30. mrkek Says:

    Haha! The faithful is rewarded with the sleep of peace over this weekend, for who knows what terrible consequences await those who have strayed from the instructions of Mr Kek.
    Yes, it’s always the desperate who threatens. It’s also the desperately unenlightened who gets threatened. Desperation to desperation leads to exasperation.
    Anyway, I know not what I’m writing about now, because the sun is finally shining today and I want to bring my baby out.
    Tata.

  31. yu fei Says:

    I nominate yan licheng from 3EP as the pictures on the northern lights are very interesting .His entries are very meaningful and he made use of the 1100 words.His entire blog is very impressive. I very much would like to read his blog over and over again.

  32. YANG JIEMIN Says:

    I also nominate catrin from 3EP as she has one of the most interesting blog in our class. Although we were forced to use the 1100 words in our journals which sometimes are hard to link up with our life today, she managed to do just that. She did not just do the minimun for her journals and put in an extra effort, which impressed me.

  33. YANG JIEMIN Says:

    MR KEK!!! NOOOOO I JUST POSTED 3 MINUTES AFTER YOURS T_T

  34. YANG JIEMIN Says:

    And you finally removed the moderation thing.. Lol

  35. Hubert Says:

    YES JIEMIN U DIE!!!!!!xD “terrible consequences”

  36. Hubert Says:

    all nominate catrin de o.O im extra sobs

  37. Koh Eng Kiat Says:

    Mr kek is it alright if I write a blog regarding gang,I am scare that the may come after me.It is already posted should I delete it.

  38. Koh Eng Kiat Says:

    forget it i think i will delete it now.

  39. catrin m Says:

    I would like to nominate Shuhadah of 3EP.

    Shuhadah’s posts are inspirational. She writes about profound yet true facts of life. Through her questions in her posts, she makes readers contemplate on life.

    Catrin, 3EP

  40. Koh Eng Kiat Says:

    I shall nominate Chiang Fong Sin of 3Justice ’s blog.

    His post is easy to comprehand and interesting.

  41. AzureFury Says:

    Aw,Hubert,no one nominated you.Counting the votes,I think Catrin is the winner for 3EP.

  42. vo1tage Says:

    Jun Rui from 3ep here. Sorry for not doing the ‘neccessary actions’, but i’ve been to camp and only back yesterday night.

    I have already done ‘Necessary Action 3’, and below will be action 2.

    Action 2, Nomination:
    I nominate Hubert Lau from 3ep as the BEST BLOG.

    Besides the fact that his name is so fun to pronounce, Hubird has consistently been putting effort into his journal entries. You can see that he is a very responsible person as he has been doing his journal entries on time. Besides, he had also put up an ‘archive’ column on the left-side of his wordpress blog, for easy reference to past entries! No less expected from him, there is also a comment function for every entry.

    He had also put in alot of work into his latest entry on ‘Gaming Addiction’.

    Thank you very much.

  43. Jihao Says:

    hello mrkek.i have previously nominated fong sin’s blog as my choice with description but i can’t find it so i am posting again:D

  44. hansel Says:

    do i have to nominate??? btw someone from some addiction recovery thingy googled and found my blog LOL!!! check it at my blog

  45. Huanwoon Says:

    I’m nominating catrin marcellina of 3EP.

    I can tell that she puts in a lot of effort in her work. Her journals are also based on her own feelings. She’s also able to add in the 1100words in her journals.

    Huanwoon 3EP

  46. donkeylee Says:

    im nominating alfie lim of 3jt.The public should know more about his work,as many have no idea how well he writes.he not only added in the 1100words in his posts but uses profound vocabs.

  47. JiHao Says:

    Thank you Mr Kek!:D

  48. Hubert Says:

    tot nomination must 100 words all getting shorter zzz


  49. I would like 2 nominate Clarence Seow from 3ep with his discursive essay on [Do parents over-control their child nowadays?]as he discussed the topic in a mature and serious tone.His points are also very relevant in reference to the topic.Read his post find out more!

    >.<HaHax[Yew Weng]

  50. Alfie Says:

    I’d love to nominate Jennifer from 3JT(No doubt about that). You can see from her journal entries that she puts in a significant deal of effort. Not only that, she takes the trouble to put up the adorable pictures she draws. The work she puts in shows. Well, if you ask me what’s my favourite entry so far it would be her T1W6 journal.

  51. jia xin 3 justice Says:

    do we have to do a journal for the march holidays using the 11oo book?as in,we can’t possibly name it term 1 week 11 journal right?please reply asap:)thanks.

  52. Hubert Says:

    lols yew weng too late liaos 😛

  53. jennifer Says:

    I’d like to nominate Fongsin’s blog! (3JT) He always posts his on his blog on time and even bothers to go and check out the blogs of his fellow classmates to give them reminders. He seems to be quite enthusiastic about it on a whole basis. His posts, themselves, always seem to reflect on what he feels, which I find very endearing, since I believe it to be very hard to be able to express one’s own opinions to the public with such confidence. (:

  54. mrkek Says:

    Jia Xin: Yes, you would still need one journal entry for this March holidays. You can use the title “Term 1 March Holidays”. Thank you for asking the question.

  55. shevons Says:

    I’m nominating Jennifer’s and Tiong Ann’s.

    Jennifer’s post is rather interesting, more like a story than a journal entry and like everyone has said, she put in a lot of effort plus her cute lil’ pictures to brighten up the blog.

    Tiong Ann’s post writes on his own personal thoughts, feelings and things happened to him, both in the past and present. He made used of the words in the 1100 words book and write the journal on what happen in school or to him, which is rather amazing as I can’t find any ways that I could use those words so I had to create short story.

    Sorry for doing all this on the last day of the holidays, I was rather busy and had not much time on the computer. xD

  56. maywataw Says:

    I nominate catrin of 3ep as i find that her posts reflect the aspect of every day life even while using words from “1100 words”, also her essay is c;ear cut and straight to the point which is an important characteristic of persuasive text

  57. Revoltage%Superflavours Says:

    Hai, Chuan Yang here. ^_^

    I wanna nominate jennifer(wwww.zomg-8d.blogspot.com) as her blogs are always interesting, and long? Also, haven’t you noticed that her blogs are always long and are related in stories? Crank that soldierboy. Her feature article was stunning, too. Oh yes, the pictures that on her blog spicies up things a little, but she drew them during lessons, and the teachers doesn’t notice! Mr Kek?

    By the way Mr Kek, sorry for the late blog posting. Firstly, I had the badminton competition (last time), so I no time to do. I promise to finish up everything I owe you kays?

    Thanks,
    CY ^_^_^_^_^_^_^_^_^_^

  58. ahtan Says:

    i nominate soh jun rui of 3ep as i find his “hubird” trilogy rather onteristing and comical.and catrin m too. you can see the effort she hath put in in her journal blog. an effort that is hardly present in any other blog.

    hansel 3ep

  59. Clarence Says:

    I will like to nominate Lau Yew Weng from 3EP as the best blogger.

    His blogs post are interesting and he had put a lot of effort into trying to gain the reader’s attention. Without any attention, who will actually bother to even start reading the blog?

    He also included personal experiences of himself and thus it makes the story realistic and draws the reader’s attention as they could relate to it better.

    He had also tried his utmost to complete the homework given on time. Great amount of effort could also be seen being put in his journals.

    EXACTLY 100 words.

    P.S hubird: You seem to be greatly interested about our nominations.

  60. dazza Says:

    I’m nominating Daniel.
    i think his posts are interesting and makes me want to read on even more. He makes use of the words in 1100 words book and i feel that he has put in lots of effort to write the journal entries.
    I was helping out at my ncc camp so i didnt have time to do this on time.

    darren wong

  61. KHOO PIN JUN Says:

    i think that tion ann’s one is the best. Iy is because his entries are all very interesting and sometimes very funny. It is not boring and is very creative. His grammer and vocabulary is also very good, much better than mine. The words that tion ann use for the 1100 words is very good and i sometimes find it hard to use it and he manage to make the stories nice while relating to school stuff. GOod kob there tion ann

  62. gta189 Says:

    i would like to vote for alfie. he can portray and do characterisation (did i pelled it correctly?) very well. i could almost imagine that there is such a character in the school…and i am in the same class as him or her. maybe he based it on real life people in our class. i really enjoyed reading his.

    special mention award: everyone who did all your work! good job! i was not easy but you did it. now…3 more terms to go…

  63. mrkek Says:

    I would appreciate if everyone can make the effort to spell and punctuate properly when commenting.
    This is, afterall, schoolwork.

    Keep the nominations coming.

  64. Keng Hoe Says:

    Mr Kek:I agree.Surprisingly,many of us are not spelling and punctuating properly.I remember that you have told us to use proper English at all times.

    Clarence:I think “Hubird” just finds our nominations interesting,and I find it highly amusing to read your interesting nominations.I’ve been waiting for the nominations to come.:)

  65. April Says:

    I am April of 3Empathy. I would like to nominate Catrin’s blog as it is interesting. Many of her posts are based on very relavant current issues that we can feel quite strongly for. Her style of writing is also light and refreshing. Not only that, she has managed to incoporate words from the 1100 words into her posts an uses them in the correct way. She has obviously taken effort to plan ahead before writing. I think this is quite commendable.

  66. dylan Says:

    I shall nominate jihao. I find that he has made a comendable effort in trying to complete all of his journals on time.

    His journals are really nioce to read and his stories are captivating,although usually about war. the good thing is that the good guy always wins *wink* which in mostt stories are always the case. It may seem that the stories are always very violent, but at least it is not as gory as others

  67. chenrui Says:

    Hey Mr Kek can i just post 10 but use 10 words instead of 5? 😀 i did my first one already!

    HURRAY. like finalyy

  68. Walter Says:

    I would like to nominate Catrin’s blog as the best. Most of her post are either personal experiences or relevant issues that are happening now. Many of the post are about her everyday life and she is able to put to good use the 1100 words. Her writing is very natural and the way she writes her entries causes it to be very interesting.

  69. huichuen Says:

    -Hui Chuen from 3ep.
    I’m nominating Catrin’s blog as it’s very interesting. They’re current affairs and they are from her true experiences. She also put the words from ‘1100 words’ into good use.

  70. Yi Han Says:

    No offense meant. Is it my imagination, or am I reading repetitions of qualities of Catrin’s blog, just in a different format?


Leave a comment