Writing as art as expression

January 22, 2008

Why does one write? Why does one create?

Why do you write?

Perhaps these are some questions you need to answer before taking the ‘O’ Level English composition examinations. I would love to hear your answers to these questions, in my comment box.

Anyway, the best post of Term 1 Week 2, in my humble opinion, is the one written by Tan Yi Han of 3EP. She has managed to portray the conflict between students and the Discipline Master with a delightful minimum of words, and fulfilling the 5 vocab-word condition I’ve imposed on your journal entries at the same time. She has also, in her short post, challenged the concept of utopia. Is there utopia? Is it a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow? (Try chasing a rainbow if you ever see one.) I would also love to hear your views on this.

By the way, you can read her post by clicking here.

Finally, I would like to bring back the point that: if you can’t feel, you can’t write. I believe it is the same for singing. So, I’ve put up a video below, featuring Patti Labelle doing a cover of The Pretender’s I’ll Stand by You. Again, in my humble opinion, she is one singer with a really big heart and a really big voice.

Feel it. Resonate.

22 Responses to “Writing as art as expression”

  1. yhgirl Says:

    Mr kek? My name is Tan Yi Han.

  2. [[jamie]] Says:

    HELLO mr kek.i think you made a mistake.its tan yi han,not ting yi han.

  3. Yi Han Says:

    Mr kek? My name is Tan Yi Han, not Ting Yi Han.

  4. Keng Hoe Says:

    The reason I write,is to express myself,to improve my English.I enjoy reading,as well as writing,so maybe I write just for fun and to enjoy.

  5. mrkek Says:

    Yi Han: Sorry for the mistake. I seemed to have fused two names into one. I’ve edited the post, so your name should be correct now. Thanks for the reminder.

    Keng Hoe: Let’s explore this idea of expression deeper. Why do you want to express yourself? Is it an innate need?

  6. Keng Hoe Says:

    Well,it isn’t really an innate need,maybe just to write my thoughts out to further develop it.Like artists,who draw anything that they might suddenly think of.What about you,Mr Kek? Why do you write?

  7. Yi Han Says:

    I think better if I write out my thoughts – it sort of organises them.

  8. mrkek Says:

    Keng Hoe: Actually, I don’t quite agree with your idea of spontaneous creation. I think artists probably don’t draw anything they suddenly think of. They spend a lot of time thinking through what they want to express before drawing it out. Well, I write when I want to express a certain point of view. It’s sort of like an innate need. Maybe that’s why I ended up teaching. 🙂

    Yi Han: Yes, some people do think better through writing. In fact, you may get to understand the world better through writing about the world.

  9. Keng Hoe Says:

    I think I might have been wrong about the artists,since I am not really interested in art anyway.Writing your thoughts out helps you to develop it further,it is like writing a draft for a composition.Only after writing out what you think then you can improve on it.Many changes to my writing are made after I have read them,like this comment.

  10. mrkek Says:

    Keng Hoe: Armed with an attitude to improve your writing, no obstacles can stop your guns. Hmm… I think I’m starting to spout nonsense again.

  11. B. Hong Says:

    Mr Kek i changed my blog…again…its doingjournalrox.blogspot.com

  12. mrkek Says:

    Bing Hong: I’ve updated your link. Where are your 2nd and 3rd journal entries? Edit your comment function to allow WordPress users to post.

  13. FongSin Says:

    Writing will help to spread ideas, influence minds, therefore a person who write should not be bias against anyone or anything. (except lawyers I suppose) So becareful and do selections on which sources to believe before you use them.

    Some people write to express one’s frustration, especially when you are unhappy or angry. However, the composition, diary/journal entry is most probably bias when you write in that mood.

    I think that the only way to write an objective composition is to go through the sources, balance the content and allow a sensible conclusion.

    For example, Suharto, Former Indonesia President, his policies may be bias and he may have broken laws, but he still did helped Indonesia to become at least modernised. Therefore, when a journalist is writing his biography, he/she has to state his rights and wrongs, not just one sided.

    Hence, I would like the reinstate my point that when you write and want to select from sources, analyse carefully before you use ideas from the sources.

  14. mrkek Says:

    Fong Sin: It’s an important point that you’ve raised, especially when we are in this age of information overload. There are sources easily available from the Internet but they may often be biased or inaccurate. That is why students must learn to analyse texts.

  15. Alfie Says:

    MR KEK WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN Personal Recount and First Person Narrative? PLEASE ENLIGHTEN ME.

  16. mrkek Says:

    A Narrative is basically a story, which is often fictional. A Personal Recount is a recount of events that actually happened to the author, which should be real.
    Agatha Christie is a lady but she often uses the First-Person narrative technique in her detective stories, like writing as Hercule Poirot or Miss Marple. Confessional stories are most often Personal Recounts, but the author may be lying of course, which makes them narratives.

  17. Alfie Says:

    So it is okay to write something false for a personal recount is it? Although it might not sound convincing.

  18. min min Says:

    hi mr kek. I change my link to a shorter one.

    Do remember to change my link

    Thanks

  19. mrkek Says:

    Min Min: What’s your shorter link?

  20. mrkek Says:

    Min Min: I’ve updated your link. I need you to edit the comment function to allow WordPress users to comment. You do have interesting posts in your blog. Perhaps you like to define what ‘politics’ is.

  21. min min Says:

    I’ve edited the comment function already. It should be working fine now.

    Politic is a really wide issue, but I’ve posted my opinion about it up on my blog already.


Leave a comment